20 years!

website

I realized recently that I’ve probably been working on NXS for about 20 years!

I mean… 20 years, man.  That’s a long time.

Don’t get me wrong; I haven’t been *actively* working on it all that time.  The game has been relatively fully-formed and gathering dust, as they say, most of that time.  I’d drag it out of the closet occasionally, and strong-arm one of my friends into playing a game or two.  Or I’d get a burst of enthusiasm and work furiously on one of the three computer versions.  But all-in-all, from conception to today, it’s been about 20 years.

Putting it out in front of the general public.  Actively trying to get eyes on it.  3D printing a prototype.  Those are pretty big steps for me, and I’m excited to see it happening.

A bit on the history of NXS

I was inspired to create my own strategy board game because of the work of two men who I met many years ago.

They invented a brilliant game called Terrace.  Like so many others, I’d seen the game sitting on a table in the background of Ten Forward on Star Trek: TNG.  I thought it was a prop until I spotted it in the store of a local science museum (OMSI).  I was thrilled to discover that it was not only a real game, but that it had simple and elegant rules that belied a complex and deep game.

I was even more excited to discover that the inventors (Buzz Siler and Anton Dresden) lived quite close to my home town.  I fired off an email, like any good fan-boy, gushing about their wonderful game, inquiring about a computer version, etc.

As it turned out, they were very close to releasing a computer version.  Buzz was kind enough to invite me to come over to his home and try it out.  I met him and Anton, and gave them my impressions of the computer version.  They were even kind enough to give me a pre-release copy (on floppy disk, ah the good old days).

That experience stuck in my brain for a few years.  If these local guys could create their own strategy game, why couldn’t I?

Thus the kernel of the idea that became NXS was formed.

One thought on “20 years!

Leave a comment